Tag Archive for Weston Lewis James

Children’s Book Fictional Personality of the Year

The newspapers have been packed with end of year lists since the beginning of December. In my final post of 2016, here is my personal end of year awards list.

Fictional Character Personality of the Year:
So many great characters this year, including bully Betty Glengarry in Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk, but the most memorable for me has to be Sam from Alone by DJ Brazier. It’s a brave author who sustains a book for children with only one character throughout, and forgoes the device of having animals talk so that there really isn’t any dialogue, other than the conversations Sam has with himself.

Stranded after a plane crash near the Amazon River, Sam has to summon all his strength and resilience to survive. This gives Brazier the ultimate excuse to show Sam’s development – he starts as a boy just like any other, but by the end Sam has had to grapple with loneliness, despair, injury and failure.

Brazier doesn’t hold back with gruesome detail, but there is also a surprising amount of humour, and lashings of emotion – Sam is a great kid and one I’d love to meet in real life.

Picture Book Character of the Year:

I could easily have plumped for Alison Hubble who doubles and doubles, but instead, my character of the year has to be Nibbles, the Book Monster by Emma Yarlett. This isn’t because I was bribed with a plush toy of Nibbles, but because the character is easy for children to draw, adorable in his mischievousness, and an original book-eating monster with a bursting personality, despite looking like a glorified m&m! The book has been paper-engineered to a high production finish, with lots of interactivity, references to fairy tales, and a wonderful hide and seek of Nibbles in a bookcase.

Cleverest Use of Colour: The Great Fire of London by Emma Adams, illustrated by James Weston Lewis. Finally given the treatment it deserves, this seminal point of British history is given an illustrative makeover in this sumptuous book that absolutely illustrates history to life. No child will find history ‘boring’ with this book glowing into their face.

Most Satisfaction Gained from an Activity Book: Pinball Science (Build Your Own) by Ian Graham, Nick Arnold and Owen Davey. I was never one for paper engineering – when I worked at Dorling Kindersley my absolute nightmare was being involved in the paper model project of the Millennium Dome. However, I made this Pinball Machine one Saturday afternoon, and it gave hours of pleasure to the kids, plus we learned some sciencey stuff.

Most Successful Publicity Campaign (aka bribery): King Flashypants by Andy Riley Not only did this book have me rolling about in stitches, but the kind team at Hodder sent me chocolate, activity sheets, an advent calendar and a bag to accompany my enjoyment (please note this was all sent after I had reviewed the book!). But buy it, because it also wins Funniest Book of the Year. I still read chapter 12 to perk me up during sad frustrating times.

Most Likely to Give Nightmares: The Nest by Kenneth Oppel, illustrated by Jon Klassen. I haven’t recovered from this nightmarish yet masterfully written young teen read. Merging dreams and reality, wasps and angels, this wasn’t a book even sent to me for review, but ended up being a book of the week for its lithe ability to sting the mind with thoughts and feelings.

Most Shocking Ending of the Year: Piers Torday rips up all the rules of children’s books with his ending in There May be a Castle. No spoilers here, but tissues at the ready. It’ll make adults think twice too.

Most prevalent animal this year: I’d like to say foxes or wolves, seeing as they have cropped up in so many children’s books from The Wolf Wilder, Wolf Hollow, The Wolves of Currumpaw to Maybe a Fox, The Fox and the Wild, and Finding the Fox, following in the tradition of The Wolves of Willoughby Chase, The Call of the Wild and Fantastic Mr Fox, but actually it’s dogs. There are dogs dotted all around the chidren’s book market at the moment, The Detective Dog, Dogs on Trains, Oi Dogs, Days with Dogs, just Dogs, Claude, Spot, Odd Dog Out, The Great Fire Dogs, Spy Dog, Knitbone Pepper Ghost Dog, Space Dog, not to mention secondary dog characters in stories. However, seeing as dogs, foxes and wolves all belong in the large taxonomic family called Canidae – we’ll leave it at that. Perhaps next year will be the turn of the cats. See you in 2017.

 

The Great Fire of London by Emma Adams and James Weston Lewis

great fire

Today is the 350th anniversary of the start of the Great Fire of London. As well as some fabulous comic book stamps that have been released by the post office to commemorate the occasion, those children who are studying the event, or interested in history can now read about the fire in a wonderfully illuminating book published earlier this summer.

The Great Fire of London: 350th Anniversary of the Great Fire of 1666 by Emma Adams and illustrated by James Weston Lewis is a beautiful retelling of the events that took place over the few days that London was lit up by a massive conflagration from a small smouldering coal from a baker’s oven.

The illustrations are striking, from the front cover onwards, as if the book itself has been set alight – the cover is rose-gold foiled – a gold orange glow that reflects the shop lighting, but it is the inside that really sets the reader alight.

From the endpapers – huge magnificent flames sweeping across the page, to the cleverly illustrated interior, where the orange and yellow colour lights up the dark night sky, this book truly brings the event to life. The illustrator has ingeniously limited his palette to blues for everything that isn’t consumed by fire – the boats, the buildings, the night sky, the river – all carefully shown in silhouette almost, so that the oranges, yellows and reds of the fire glare out from the page.

What’s more however, is that the fairly minimal text and huge illustrations give an enormous amount of information; telling the history of the fire as a story narrative, day by day – following in the tradition of Pepys, of course, but in simple language, explaining as the reader moves along why the houses were built so close together, why fire was used for warmth and light and so on.

The amount of detail in the illustrations is fabulous too – as the reader can see the people in their houses; the expression on their faces as they see what is taking hold. It fully imagines and explains the events. There are quotes from Pepys’ diary too, as well as a summation of what happened after the fire had been put out.

In William Grill style, Weston Lewis explores the changes to firefighting as a result of the fire, with a detailed drawing out of the number of firefighters, engines and fire stations that made up the first London Fire Brigade.

At the end not only does the author draw attention to the monument, designed as a memorial to the fire, but also explains key people of the time, key buildings of the time, and shows a delightful map of just how much of the city the fire of London engulfed.

This is the best representation and history of the Great Fire of London for children that I have seen. It makes the event dramatic and compelling, and contains all the relevant information. Buy a copy here.

Check out the Museum of London’s website about the Great Fire of London here.